Click Here For Client Portal
Morgan & Weisbrod LLP

Before you can receive Social Security disability benefits, you must be considered disabled by the Social Security Administration (SSA). What does this mean? SSA defines “disabled” in strict terms: you must have an impairment or a combination of impairments, either medical, psychological, or psychiatric. You must also meet the definition of disability which basically means that your impairment must be severe enough that it prevents you from working for at least one year, or it must be expected to result in death. SSA does not make payments for partial or short-term disability.

If you are disabled, there are two types of Social Security disability benefits for which you may be eligible. The first type of benefit that most people qualify for is Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI), also known as DIB or Title II benefits. Qualification for DIB is based on your work history, how much you worked, how much you paid into the Social Security system, and how recently you worked prior to your disability causing you to stop working. The second type of benefit is Supplemental Security Income (SSI), also known as Title XVI benefits. This type of benefit is based on financial need. Some people may qualify for both programs. However, you must be found disabled to qualify for either type of benefit.

To apply for either or both of these benefits, please contact the Social Security Administration at 1-800-772-1213, and ask for an application. Or, you may choose to visit any Social Security office, or contact the Social Security Administration on the internet, at After you have applied and if you receive a denial of your benefits, please contact Morgan & Weisbrod for the assistance you need and deserve.

Free Consultation ∙ Handicapped Accessible ∙ Se Habla Español

From offices in Dallas/Fort Worth and Houston, the Social Security Disability Claims attorneys of Morgan & Weisbrod, LLP help disabled people throughout Texas receive the disability benefits they deserve. Cities we serve include Tyler, Longview, Austin, El Paso, Lubbock, San Antonio, Waco, Amarillo, Bryan, College Station, Angleton, Galveston, Sugar Land, Beaumont, Arlington, Irving, Denton, McKinney, Plano, Carrollton, Amarillo, Corpus Christi, Brownsville, and Abilene.

Morgan & Weisbrod LLP

by Paul B. Burkhalter
Managing Partner of Morgan & Weisbrod, Board Certified in Social Security Disability Law.


© 2024 Morgan & Weisbrod LLP, All Rights Reserved, Reproduced with Permission Privacy Policy | Site Map  | Legal Marketing

Skip to content